On March 14, officers, board members and volunteers of the Hawthorne Ordnance Museum met for a board meeting to discuss and take action on several issues of the museum and to receive reports of recent events and discuss future interests and commitments.

Because of the recent death of Museum Chairman and Curator Herman Millsap, an election of Officers of the Corporation and members of the Board of Directors was held.

Elected as Chairman and Curator was Peter Papadakos; Carole Mortensen as Vice Chairman; Wanda Millsap, Recording Secretary and Treasurer; and Bob Straw as Quartermaster.  Members of the Board of Directors are Dorothy Fortenberry; Tony Hughes; Ruby Hume; Wanda Millsap; Carole Mortensen; Larry Mortensen; Peter Papadokos; Willow Phillips; and Debra Schwartz.

Remaining on the Board Committees were: Carole Mortensen, Nominating Committee Chair; Tony Hughes, Marketing and Public Relations; and Clara Powers, Receiving and Correspondence.

Individuals in the community are welcome to the board meetings and also be volunteers at the museum. The museum is located at 925 E Street in Hawthorne and the telephone is 775-945-5400. The museum is open Monday through Friday 10 a.m. to 4 pm. and on Saturday,10 a.m. to 3 p.m., Closed Sunday.