Heidi Bunch
Mineral County voters turned out in high numbers Tuesday at the library.

The final numbers came in later than usual, but Mineral County voters took to the polls in high numbers to have their voices heard during the 2018 General Election.

Mineral County sheriff Randy Adams was re-elected after earning more than 65 percent of the vote to defeat opponent Earl Perry, 1,142-589.

“To the people of Mineral County, thank you,” Adams said. “Thank you for having faith in me to lead your sheriff’s office into whatever the future holds for us. Thank you for your continued support and allowing me to finish what I started. I will strive to keep the support of all those who voted for me and strive to earn the support of those who didn’t. Finally, I would like to thank my opponent for running a clean campaign, its appreciated.”

In the Justice of the Peace race, Mike James went on to defeat Paula Reed, 926-797.

Christine Hoferer earned 58.94 percent of the votes to win the race for County Commission, Seat C.

In what was the tightest race in the county, Cindy Nixon won the Recorder-Auditor race over Donna Oberhansli, 928-870.