Courtesy photo
Staff members CarolJean Souza and Christina Boyles surrounded by library board members Lynda Miller, Keith Hughes, Schyler Hagen and director Courtney Oberhansli.

Mineral County Library staff members received a surprise at February’s library board meeting. Chairman of the Library Board of Trustees Schyler Hagen presented certificates of appreciation along with a monetary award to three deserving staff members.

Assistant Director Christina Boyles received a certificate highlighting her importance to our grants program. Boyles goes the extra mile to ensure that Mineral County Library offers one-of-a-kind programs that help to expand the horizons of our citizens. Mina librarian CarolJean Souza received a commendation for her tireless dedication to the Mina Branch Library. She has been an asset to the Hawthorne library staff who appreciate that Mina is in good hands.

The Mineral County Library circulation librarian Katharine Pyatt was not able to be present to receive her award, but the commendation highlights her enthusiastic willingness to help with any project. She has been instrumental in teaching adult patrons how to use the computers. Because of her efforts, patrons have graduated to using computers on their own—an important goal of digital literacy that is stressed at both state and national levels. The board and Library Director Courtney Oberhansli congratulated the staff members for their excellent work.

Commissioner liaison to the library Garth Price was not able to make the meeting but expressed by email that he was “glad to hear the awards were handed out to your employees, much deserved.” After the meeting, a luncheon for the staff and board members was provided by board member Lynda Miller.