The Mineral County Independent-News took home a first-place award for Best News Photo Coverage along with five total honors in the community newspaper division of the Nevada Press Association’s Better Newspaper Contest.

The awards were presented during the Nevada Press Association’s annual convention, held Saturday night in Elko.

C.W. Wilkinson’s photo of the candlelight vigil following the tragic accident involving the deaths of seven Marines during an explosion at the Hawthorne Army Depot earned first place in its Best News Photo. Wilkinson also took a second place award for news coverage of the accident.

Photographer Joe Norman took a second place for Best Feature Photo — taken underneath the big flag at the Armed Forces Day parade. Norman and Eric Dahlberg combined for a second place for Best Multiple Photo Essay for their Armed Forces Day pictorial.

Kirk Kern and Dahlberg took a second place for Best Page One Design.