Mineral County residents are in for quite the variety of candidates for this year’s primary election, which will be held on Tuesday, June 12.

Local partisan offices up for grabs are as follows:

County Commissioner, Seat C (4 Year Term): Mike Guss (DEM); Christine Hoferer (REP); Barbara “Barb” Owens (REP); Russell C. Owens (REP); James “Gunny” Utterback (REP) and Norman E. Williams (NP).

Recorder-Auditor (4 Year Term): Cherrie George (REP); Cindy Nixon (REP) and Donna Oberhansli (DEM).

Assessor (4 Year Term): Kevin B. Chisum (REP); Janeen Clark (DEM) and Jerrie Tipton (DEM).

District Attorney Sean Alden Rowe; Clerk-Treasurer Christopher Nepper and Public Administrator Beth Cichowlaz will run unopposed.

Non-partisan offices:

Sheriff (4 Year Term): incumbent Randy Adams and Earl William Perry.

Hawthorne Justice of the Peace (6 Year Term): Breanna Hatfield; Mike James; James W. Kenner and Paula Joe Reed.

Hospital Board Trustee (2 Year Term): Tom Fitzgerald; Richard Lee Schuman and Karen Womack.

Mineral County School Board Trustee (Inside Seat – 4 Year Term): Teresa Farley; incumbent Keith E. Neville and David Ziegler.

Walker Lake General Improvement District (4 Year Term): Shelley N. Hartmann and Michael C. Pugh.

Candice Birchum will run unopposed for Mineral County School Board Trustee (Outside Seat – 4 Year Term); incumbent Kathy Castagnola for Mineral County School Board Trustee (Outside Seat – 2 Year Term) as well as incumbent Gary Schaaf for Hawthorne Township Constable.

The last day for candidates to withdraw is March 27. Registration to vote deadlines are May 15 for mail-in registration and May 16-22 for extended in-office and online registration: in person at the clerk’s office or online with extended online registration only on May 23-24.

Early voting for the primary election is May 26-June8. Mail/absentee ballot request deadline is June 5 with June 12 being the primary election with the polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For voters who have questions, they may call the Mineral County Clerk at 775-945-2446.

[widgets_on_pages id=”directory”]