Tanya Bunch
(Left) Chandler Isom, winner of Hawthorne VFW Post 2313 Voice of Democracy contest is shown with Darryl Conway and Barbara Edington. (Right) Shayla Ziegler, one of the winners of Hawthorne VFW Post 2313 Patriot’s Pen contest is shown with Conway and Edington.

Hawthorne students were honored during Post 2313 VFW’s annual dinner where contestants in both the Voice of Democracy and Patriot’s Pen read their speeches.

As in year’s past, the students are given a topic and asked to write on the subject. This year’s Voice of Democracy theme was “My Vision For America”. The younger students would write about “What Freedom Means to Me”.

A large showing of support came out to write about the subjects.

Winners for this year’s Voice of Democracy were Chandler Isom. Romey Hickman and Alyssa Richmond also received awards.

Talking about “What Freedom Means to Me” were: Kathyn Mclune; Cheyenne Walker; Ethan Nels; Glenn Reeves; Seth Bozzi and Kelsey Roberts. Winning the contest was: Shayla Ziegler, David Robinson and Jesslyn Gomez.

Winners move onto district and state competitions.