Many new faces have thrown their hats into the political arena vying for various seats this election year.

Running unopposed is current Mineral County Clerk-Treasurer Christopher Nepper who has held the position since July 1, 2015 after the resignation of former clerk, Lorraine Haight.

Vying for county commissioner – Seat A is: Wade M. Barton; Richard D. Bryant and Christopher L. Hegg. Both Barton and Hegg are listed as Republicans whereas Bryant is listed as a Democrat.

Seat B finds incumbent Paul Allen MacBeth, a Republican up against Garth Daniel Price, a non-partisan.

Those filing for four seats as a hospital board trustee are: Patricia M. Coen; Michelle Dow; Tom Fitzgerald and Hugh Qualls.

Schyler C. Hagen; incumbent Barbara R. Lancaster; Tyler J. Viani and incumbent Sheryl Samson will fill four of the five seats open on the Mineral County School Board. A letter of withdrawal was received by the Mineral County Clerk’s office on Monday, March 21 from Mark D. Nixon to have his name removed from the “School Board Trustee – County seat – four year term position”.

Michael L. Coen rounded out the name of those listed by the clerk’s office by filing for the position of television board member, a four-year term.

Nevada’s primary election is held June 14 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The last day to register to vote is May 14.